M1 photo - testing Photobucket

Astrophotography: share your photos & discuss techniques
menardre
Vice President

M1 photo - testing Photobucket

Unread post by menardre »

I am just getting into astrophotography. I previously tried to upload pictures, but file size was always too large. I recently read Andy's very informative post on using photobucket, so I decided to give it another try. The posted photo is M1 taken with Nikon D7100 through my Stellarvue 90m APO. I would love to share photos and get feedback and suggestions since I am just starting. I use Images Plus to control my camera and focuser, then Images Plus IP to do the image processing. Currently I am using my Stellarvue refractor and taking fairly short exposures (<120 sec). My plan is to move up to using my CPC1100 Edge with and without autoguiding once I am comfortable with the process.

Roger
Roger M.
Celestron CPC1100 EDGE, Stellarvue 130T refractor dual mounted on iOptron CEM120 on permanent pier mounted in Observatory. Imaging camera ZWO ASI2600 OSC, guide camera Lodestar or ZWO ASI290MM.
Pete
Astro Day Coordinator

Re: M1 photo - testing Photobucket

Unread post by Pete »

Astrophotography has a steep learning curve, and for sure this is a very nice start.

Pete
Pete P.
Apollo XX
MSSF Coordinator

Unread post by Apollo XX »

I love it! The stars are round and the colors are great. One thing you could try is cropping the full sized image to bring out more detail in the main subject, the nebula. I tried it with the posted version and it definitely brought out some structure, but with the small size of the file the stars got pixelated very quickly. I think with the full sized file you could get away with some pretty aggressive cropping and still have plenty of resolution.

PS - just curious, what are you using for a mount?
"The purpose of life is the investigation of the Sun, the Moon, and the heavens." - Anaxagoras
DonB

Unread post by DonB »