Microtouch Autofocuser

Astrophotography: share your photos & discuss techniques
menardre
Vice President

Microtouch Autofocuser

Unread post by menardre »

Does anyone have any background on the Starlight Microtouch autofocuser. I have a CPC100 with the Feathertouch dual speed focuser and I am planning on automating the focus with the microtouch. I know they make both a wired and wireless version. Any information relative to either the wired or wireless would be appreciated. I have my own small observatory and have a laptop connected to the CPC1100. I currently use Skytools, The SKY X, and Images Plus software.

Roger
Roger M.
Celestron CPC1100 EDGE, Stellarvue 130T refractor dual mounted on iOptron CEM120 on permanent pier mounted in Observatory. Imaging camera ZWO ASI2600 OSC, guide camera Lodestar or ZWO ASI290MM.
Pete
Astro Day Coordinator

Re: Microtouch Autofocuser

Unread post by Pete »

Hi Roger,

I've no direct experience with the Starlight focusers. However, my own autofocusing experience leads me to believe that they're only marginally effective along the New England coast. Seeing is absolutely horrible until 2 hours after sunset, making best focus a guessing game beyond the capabilities of an auto-focus routine. Now, I'm always out at sunset and working at a relatively long focal length of around 2100mm, and that may or may not have something to do with my situation. But early evening seeing conditions vary from one minute to the next, and even with an autofocus routine that averages 2 or 3 frames per position, it doesn't help as a minute later you're in a nasty cell or a clear cell. Leaving the focus fixed, my star brightness or FWHM readings will vary by 30% over the period of a minute or so in the early evening.

So my personal experience is that unless you're running unattended for long periods of time manual tweaking of focus is best in unsettled conditions.